Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List

News / Articles

Twin Cities PR Leader elected as Chair for PRSA College of Fellows

Published on 3/29/2021
Media Contact: Ayme Zemke

Minneapolis, March 29, 2021 – Following a rigorous national selection process, Margaret Ann Hennen, APR, Fellow PRSA, has been selected to serve as the 2021 chair-elect for the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) College of Fellows. Her extensive knowledge of the College’s vision for the future including strategic planning, diversity and inclusion, ethics and preparing to welcome new generations of Fellows, made her the top contender. 

The College of Fellows is an active organization comprising more than 350 leading practitioners and educators, each of whom has left a significant footprint on the public relations profession. Hennen, President of Hennen Communication, LLC, was inducted into the College of Fellows in 2009 and appointed to the Selection Committee for two years. She has also served on and chaired the GoodFellow program. Hennen led the Code of Conduct Task Force, which created the College's Standards of Excellence. In 2019, she led the history project for the College's 30th anniversary. 

“We congratulate Margaret Ann on this achievement. With her history of service to our profession, her leadership to our Chapter and her commitment to our industry, there is no one better suited to lead the College of Fellows,” said Jennifer Bagdade, APR, president of Minnesota PRSA. “Minnesota PRSA is a national leader with 17 Minnesota PRSA members accepted into the College of Fellows – widely considered the gold standard – and I hope her success inspires our members to consider a similar path.”

Hennen, an active Minnesota PRSA member, is a previous chapter president and most recently served as Chapter Ethics Officer. She has taught and mentored Professionals seeking their Accreditation in Public Relations (APR) and launched the Minnesota Past Chapter Presidents Group to sustain senior-member involvement. She also served on the PRSA National Board for four years and served two terms on the Board of Ethics and Professional Standards. Hennen led re-establishing the ICON attendee mentoring program and chaired the committee. For the last decade, she has conducted ICON new-attendee orientation and served on the National Nominating Committee. 

“Margaret Ann is well positioned to serve the College as chair-elect this year and as chair in 2022, she is an agent of change in a fluid environment,” said Greg Bailey, APR, Fellow PRSA 2021 Chair, PRSA College of Fellows. “It is a pleasure to welcome her as 2021 chair-elect of the College of Fellows.”

To be considered for the PRSA College of Fellows, a PRSA member must have practiced or taught public relations for 20 or more years, demonstrated superior capability, served as a role model and advanced the state of the profession. Criteria also includes being Accredited and serving as a role model in the profession and in the community. 

About PRSA
The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is the nation’s leading professional organization serving the communications community. PRSA is the principal advocate for industry excellence and ethical conduct and provides members lifelong learning opportunities and leading-edge resources to enhance professional connections and support them at every stage of their career. With more than 30,000 members, PRSA is collectively represented in all 50 states by more than 110 Chapters and 14 Professional Interest Sections, and on nearly 375 college and university campuses through its student organization, the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA). For more information, please visit

About Minnesota PRSA 
Minnesota PRSA is a thriving professional organization whose mission is to build relationships and opportunities among a diverse community of professionals committed to effective, ethical and strategic outcomes. Minnesota PRSA has been an active part of Minnesota’s communications scene since 1953 and its membership comprises 250 corporate, agency, independent, non-profit and government public relations professionals from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Western Wisconsin.