Privacy Policy   |   Print Page   |   Sign In
Perspectives Blog: Chapter News

Nonprofits Shine at 2013 Minnesota PRSA Classics Awards

Friday, April 4, 2014   (0 Comments)
Share |

The Minnesota chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) celebrated the best public relations programs of 2013 during the 36th annual Minnesota PRSA Classics Awards, held last night at the Nicollet Island Pavilion.


In a night with multiple nonprofit organizations receiving honors, it was PadillaCRT and Be the Match that took home this year’s Best of Show award for the “Securing Congressional Support to Help Save Lives” campaign. Other nonprofits receiving honors included: American Academy of Neurology, Children’s Hospitals and Clinics, Jobs for Minnesotans, Midwest Dairy Association, MinnesotaZoo, Medtronic Foundation, University of Minnesota Academic Health Center, and The Uptown Association.


In addition to recognizing the top public relations campaigns of the year, Minnesota PRSA honored Jim Lukaszewski, ABC, APR, Fellow PRSA, President of The Lukaszewski Group Division of Risdall Marketing with the Donald G. Padilla Distinguished Practitioner Award. The award recognizes an individual who is judged to have made selfless contributions to the community and has demonstrated exceptional professional achievement.


“In Minnesota, the public relations community has a strong tradition of developing and executing exceptional programs; all the winners in this year’s Classics Awards showcased exceptional work,” said Anna Lewicki Long, APR, president of Minnesota PRSA. “But what is even more impactful to me and our industry is the work that PR professionals do to strengthen our community. Campaigns like Be the Match and last year’s Best of Show winner ‘Hire Minnesota Veterans’ demonstrate the power and potential of public relations in our society. I couldn’t be prouder or our chapter and its members.”


The 2014 Young Professional Award was bestowed to Shannon Heine at General Mills (formerly senior associate at Carmichael Lynch Spong). This award celebrates the accomplishments of exceptional young Minnesota PRSA members. Additionally, Student Classics Awards, recognizing some of the best public relations work from college students in the region were awarded to Laura Jollie, Mollie Bush, Ryan Pandl and Caitlin Whealon from the University of Minnesota.


2013 Best of Show Award

The 2013 Best of Show award was presented to PadillaCRT and Be The Match for the “Securing Congressional Support to Help Save Lives” campaign. Operated by the National Marrow Donor Program, Be the Match relies on volunteers across America to build the world’s largest and most diverse marrow registry. In addition to securing national media coverage, PadillaCRT also provides Be the Match with legislative and grassroots advocacy support as federal funding can literally mean the difference between life and death for patients with deadly blood cancers like leukemia. Each year, PadillaCRT organizes and promotes a Legislative Day event in Washington, D.C. where patients and donors meet with legislators to share their powerful stories. For the 2013 campaign, PadillaCRT secured nearly 30 face-to-face meetings between patients, advocates, Be the Match leadership, and U.S. Congressmen and women garnering nearly 12,000 mentions in national media outlets; surpassing previous years.

Link for a complete listing of winners of the 36th Classics Awards


Minnesota PRSA 1660 Highway 100 South, Suite 500-309 Minneapolis MN 55416 Phone: 952-237-9258 Email:

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal